Trophies – Laying Up Tankard

Bought by the club from a Wadebridge Jewellers in 1989. The first race was in 1988, so the cup was ‘back-engraved’.  It has always been for the Laying-up race.

Year: 1988

Approx. height 118mm


Awarded to:

1988Summer WineJ. Bullen
1989Champagne MagnumA. & S. Treneer
1990EurekaT. J. Page
1991Girl SarahJ. Popplewell
1992Gay AbandonS. Gore
1993NarcissusD. Cox
1994ChukkaV. Wardale
1995CaenswoodJ. Beale
1996MistressH. Logan
1997Champagne MagnumA. Treneer
1998DolphinJ. & D. Carty
1999Champagne MagnumA. Treneer
2000Wren VBlind at Sea
2001NimbleG. & A. Edwards
2002DhokosH. & D. Stannard
2003IsisP. J. Larner
2004LilyC. Taylor
2005Rhum TruffleD. Smith
2006DhokosH. & D. Stannard
2007FreyjaJ. & J. Baker
2008Fyne SpiritP. & B. Larner
2009RattlerA. Ramsden
2010ChiantiD. Shere & D. Redgrave
2011Wizard of CleeTony Hardman
2012SplinterP. & S. Jones
2013Wizard of CleeTony Hardman
2014Les Beez NeezAlan Street
2015Les Beez NeezAlan Street
2016No Race
2017Wizard of CleeTony Hardman
2018No Race
2019Pelican Richard Lewis

Other information:

Since 2010 the Laying-Up Race cup has been awarded for the most accurate time achieved at the finish line.  The award for the best fancy dress in this race is the John Hodgson Memorial Trophy.