

Mylor Yacht Club

SAILING INSTRUCTIONS for the HELFORD PURSUIT RACE

Saturday 20 July 2024 LW Falmouth: 1136 BST 1.14m

1. <u>RULES</u>

- 1.1 The race will be governed by:
 - 1.1.1. The rules as defined in the Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS) 2021 2024.
 - 1.1.2. The Mylor Yacht Club Notice of Race 2024.

2. NOTICES TO COMPETITORS

2.1 Notices to competitors will be posted on the Mylor Yacht Club website

3. CHANGES TO SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

3.1 Any changes to these sailing instructions will be posted before 2000 hrs on the day before it will take effect.

4. SIGNALS MADE ASHORE

- 4.1 There will be no signals made ashore.
- 4.2 All signals will be made by VHF radio on Channel 6

5. <u>CLASSES AND CLASS FLAGS</u>

- 5.1 There will be one WHITE SAIL (Upwind Sails only) class for this race.
- 5.2 Competitors are encouraged to fly the MYC burgee when entering Helford Passage.

6. RACING AREAS AND COURSES

- 6.1 The racing area will include Falmouth, Falmouth Bay and the Helford River.
- 6.2 The course will be from the Start Line at the Obelisk/Penarrow transit, followed by Black Rock Port Lateral (starboard); August Rock Starboard Lateral (starboard); finishing at Voose North Cardinal (port).

7. MARKS

Penarrow Yellow Spherical (50°10'.48 N 005° 02'.37 W) Black Rock Port Lateral (50°08'.70 N 05°01'.61W) August Rock Starboard Lateral (50° 06'.06 N 05°04'.85 W) Voose North Cardinal (50° 05'.78 N 05° 06'.90 W)

8. START and START TIMES

- 8.1 No starting signals will be given
- 8.2 The starting line will be an imaginary transit line between the Obelisk on the shoreline below Penarrow Point marking the boundary between Falmouth and Truro Harbour Authorities, and the yellow spherical Mylor Yacht Harbour buoy (Pw).
- 8.3 Start times will be based on the regular Sunday Pursuit Start Times based on YTC handicaps as attached below.
- 8.4 No signals will be given to boats over the line at their start time but premature boats may be given a time penalty of not less than 2 minutes.

9. <u>FINISH</u>

9.1 Competitors shall record their finish (GPS) time when the Voose North Cardinal Mark bears 180° and, if possible, note the name of the boat ahead and boat astern at their finish, and notify the Race Officer.

10. HAZARDS

10.1 Competitors should be aware of the reef extending north and south from Black Rock, and rocks to the east of August Rock and to the south of the Voose.

11. SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS

- 11.1 A boat will count as a starter if:
 - 11.1.1 An online 2024 Race Entry Form has been completed.
 - 11.1.2 A current YTC certificate has been obtained.
 - 11.1.3 If a current YTC certificate has not been obtained, then a temporary YTC number shall be requested from the Racing Secretary at least 24 hours before the Race

12. <u>RESULTS</u>

12.1 Results will be posted on the MYC website

13. <u>TIME LIMIT</u>

13.1 The time limit will be 1400 hrs on the day of the race

14. <u>SAFETY</u>

١

14.1 The acceptance of these sailing instructions in no way limits the declared responsibility of competitors or places any liability on MYC, its officers or representatives.

15. RISK STATEMENT

- 15.1 Competitors are reminded of Rule 4 in the Racing Rules of Sailing 2021 2024.
- 15.2 Sailing is by its nature an unpredictable sport and therefore inherently involves an element of risk. By taking part in the events listed in this Notice of Race, each competitor agrees and acknowledges that:
 - 15.2.1 They are aware of the inherent element of risk involved in the sport and accept responsibility for the exposure of themselves, their crew and their boat whilst taking part in the event.
 - 15.2.2 They are responsible for the safety of themselves, their crew their boat and their other property whether afloat or ashore.
 - 15.2.3 They accept responsibility for any injury, damage or loss to the extent caused by their own actions or omissions.
 - 15.2.4 Their boat is in good order, equipped to sail in the event and they are fit to participate.
- 15.3 Each participating boat shall be insured with valid third party liability insurance with a minimum cover of £3,000,000 per event, or the equivalent.

Mylor Yacht Club List of Registered Boats and Pursuit Times 2024

Sail No.	Yacht	Owner	YTC	YTC Sp	Pursuit Start Time (WS)	Pursuit Start Time (Sp)	Place
74	PANHAGETTY II	Tom Green	1315	None	10:46:45		
45	BRACKEN 2	Nick Harrop	1305	None	10:47:30		
264	PERCY	Farrell/Steph ens/Bradley	1305	None	10:47:30		
298	YSELLA	Brian Phipps	1305	None	10:47:30		
334	GUILAN DHIU	Caro Smith	1305	None	10:47:30		
381	ALETHEA	Timothy Stuart Keeling	1305	None	10:47:30		
383	ABELEKI	Peter Dallow	1305	None	10:47:30		
392	JULIA NEAL	Nicholas Hews	1305	None	10:47:30		
400	JACKANA	James Wickett	1305	None	10:47:30		
432	LUCY	Andrew Banks	1305	None	10:47:30		
433	GRACE OF ST JUST	Sarah Fairbairn	1305	None	10:47:30		
455	SOPHIE	Chris Fuller	1305	None	10:47:30		
503	ANNIE	Robert Cox	1305	None	10:47:30		
518	STERREN VOR	Miles Pinchin	1305	None	10:47:30		
623	BLUEBELL	Steve Angood	1305	None	10:47:30		
626	JACKDAW	Stuart Sly	1305	None	10:47:30		
678	LITTLE TERN	James Parker	1305	None	10:47:30		
727	CARLA LOUISE	Clive Henderson	1305	None	10:47:30		
816	MOONDANCE	Andy Noble	1305	None	10:47:30		
842	REWARD	Alan Mills	1305	None	10:47:30		
889	DAWN OF POLRUAN	Steve Przybylski	1305	None	10:47:30		
1056	DISEE	Brian Casey	1305	None	10:47:30		
1134	GREEN DRAGON	Rob Jones	1305	None	10:47:30		
1157	LUPIN	Mike Guest	1305	None	10:47:30		
65	BLUE MOON	John Montgomery	1265	None	10:51:15		
797	ROCOCO	Clive Hoyle	1190	None	10:58:00		

Sail No.	Yacht	Owner	үтс	YTC Sp	Pursuit Start Time (WS)	Pursuit Start Time (Sp)	Place
33	ROSIE	Tom Green	1177	None	10:59:00		
694	LUCIENNE	Niall Rath	1130	None	11:03:15		
1202	MARY BOON	John Cruise	1119	1092	11:04:15	11:06:45	
320	HOTFOOT	Roeland Vroon	1108	1081	11:05:15	11:07:45	
9120	LARGO	James Davis	1091	1063	11:06:45	11:09:15	
169	CHALONNAISE	Steve Pendray	1081	None	11:07:45		
851	GAVROCHE	Gary Parks	1079	1047	11:08:00	11:10:45	
3195	LIBERTY JANE	Michael Wright	1066	1040	11:09:00	11:11:30	
1809	DEE DEE	lan Duncan	1055	1029	11:10:00	11:12:30	
7891	RIGAUDON	Stephen Nicholls	1044	Symmetri c	11:11:00		
382	SCHEDAR OF LEUNE	James Jarvis	1041	None	11:11:15		
17	DOLLY	Simon Fleming	1040	1023	11:11:30	11:13:00	
none	ISABELLA OF LEE	Michael Mills	1032	None	11:12:00		
4390	NIGHTOWLER	Mike Lithgow	977	953	11:17:00	11:19:30	
5441	FINESSE	Chris Horn	976	None	11:17:15		
3825	SECOND LIGHT	Sue Endsley	976	None	11:17:15		
9483	WHITE HEATHER	Nick Ridge	972	None	11:17:30		
9594	IMPULSIVE	Elliott Wilkinson	971	949	11:17:30	11:18:45	
355	DESSY	Andrew Grigg	961	None	11:18:30		
2173	ELUSIVE	Bob Shearer	951	None	11:19:30		
8518	BLUE MOON	Colin Trower	950	Symmetri c		11:19:30	
2878 6	POGOLYRE	Tim Lukes	936	911	11:20:45	11:23:00	
5073	BLUE HORIZON	Tim Rowley	935	912	11:20:45	11:23:00	
5745	MORWENNA	John Tipping	931	Asymmet ric		11:21:15	
4383	BRIGHTWORK	John Kulpa	928	Symmetri c		11:21:30	
2367	MOONDANCE	John Bailey	875	Symmetri c		11:26:15	
2323	AARDVARC	Philip Cook	856	834	11:28:00	11:30:00	