Trophies – Fowey Buoy Salver

A Salver presented by former Commodore and founder member, BILL JENNINGS, for the annual pursuit race to Fowey, usually via the ‘Fowey Buoy’, 12 miles offshore.  However, other marks of the course have been used, depending on weather conditions or other factors.

Year: 1984

Approx. diameter 290mm

Winners inscribed on the base:

1984/5Viking of MerseaC. Perkins
1986TidechaseT. Challender
1987Bomdadil IIJ. Money
1988Cairenn IIF. McHenry
1989RosmoraR. Bassett
1990Summer WineJ. Bullen
1991IphigeniaJ. Blewett
1992WhitbreadB. Pope
1993/4MordrosA. Cole
1995MordrosA. Cole
1996BrainwaveG. Dover
1997BladerunnerG Marshall
1998 - 2000No race
2001PinstripeB. Timmins
2002E’le MayI & L Horne
2003E’le MayI & L Horne
2004E’le MayI & L Horne
2005No race
2006FreyjaJ & J Baker
2007NarniaP & S Standley
2008FreyjaJ & J Baker
2009FreyjaJ & J Baker
2010FreyjaJ & J Baker
2011MekaM. Lithgow
2012GazelleA & T Nancarrow
2013FreyjaJ & J Baker
2014E’le MayI & L Horne
2015E’le MayI & L Horne
2016Growling KougarJ Cutler
2017Growling KougarJ Cutler
2018RhapsodyD. Jones
2019PogolyreJ. Cutler
2020 - 2022no races
2023Blue MoonC Trower

Other information:

When the Helford River Sailing Club moved their annual, overnight, end of season Eddystone Race to Fowey to mid-June, MYC established a similar race in its place.  It remained an overnight pursuit race in mid-September, but no longer went round the lighthouse, using the Fowey Buoy instead.

In 2006, it was decided to hold the race during daylight hours and this broadened the appeal of the race considerably. Indeed, it proved so popular that two courses have been used since. The salver is awarded for the longer offshore course.