Trophies – The Old Salt’s Trophy

Presented in memory of:


by his family in 1989.

Year 1989

Approx. height 280mm

Awarded to the following for exceptional service to the club:

1989Sue Treneer
1993Brian Pope
1994Cathy Page
1995Sheila Wellman and Anne Webb
1996Capt. Ray Towell
1997Anne Ramsden
1998John Beale
1999Steve Gore
2000Anne Thomas
2001Nick & Pam Dawson
2002Mary Green
2003Phil & Hilary Dormon
2004Tony & Alison Filmer & Jeff Allard
2005Liz Harris
2006Bob Shearer
2007Anna Cruise
2008John Bramley
2009Gerard Smart
2010John Clark
2011G & A York
2012Bernie Bagley
2013Peter & Chris Fittock
2014Jeff Baker
2015Ian Wilson
2016Jeanette & Chris Ruberry
2017Val & Barry Edgington
2018Roger & Di Taylor
2019 - 2021not awarded
2022Chris Horn, Derrick Painter, Sue Hemin

Other information:

This aptly named trophy was presented by the Penrose family in memory of their father Beacus Penrose of Killiow, who was a founder member and first Commodore of the Club.

He was a very colourfulcharacter and certainly qualified as an Old Salt in various ways. He had many adventures in his converted lifeboat, which was appropriately named “Loe Trout”.

The cup is awarded as a token of thanks to a person or persons who are deemed to have given especially noteworthy service to the club during the year shown.