Trophies – The Colin Bennett Memorial Trophy

Colin was the business partner of David Spargo,and was a very talented and conscientious Sail Maker and Upholsterer.

In 1980, he and David formed SKB Sails in Penryn. This became a well regarded and successful company, serving the needs of many local, national and international yachtsmen for many years.

The cup was presented by SKB Sails after Colin’s untimely death in March 2011 and is used for yacht races sponsored by SKB, as shown below:

Presented in 2011

Approx. height 280 mm

Awarded for the SKB Sails Five Creeks Race to:

2011NirvanaMike Biglin
2012Rattler*Anne Ramsden
2013Wizard of CleeTony Hardman
2014AuraEuan Beattie
2015StargazerLiam McGrath
2016No Race
2017No Race
2018Night OwlerMike Lithgow
2019Wizard of CleeT . Hardman
2020Mary BoonJohn Cruise
2021Marry BoonJohn Cruise
2022HotfootRoeland Vroon
2023no race (weather)

Other information:

This attractive cup is made from ‘modern pewter’. This alloy contains less lead than traditional pewter, and retains its bright finish with little, or no polishing.

The inscription reads:

MYC  The Colin BennettMemorial Trophy presented by SKB Sails Ltd In recognition of his contribution to local sailing.

*In 2012 the cup was presented by Colin’s widow, Jenny Bennett

Awarded for the Five Creeks Race which provides the interesting challenge of choosing in which order the 5 buoys are rounded with a finish at the Penarrow transit.

Originally started from a committee boat, from 2020 both start and finish were at the Penarrow transit and it is the only club trophy not to have been affected by covid restrictions.