Trophies – The John Hodgson Memorial Trophy

Presented in memory of former Commodore John Hodgson by his widow, Ennys.   John gave to his boats the same care and attention as he gave to other people, so that it was natural that a trophy in his name should be awarded to the most cared-for boat of the season.  Accordingly, from 2003 to 2010 the cup was awarded to the winner of an annual Concours D’Elegance competition which was judged by Ennys and the Commodore.

Trying to pick the winner on the ‘concours’ basis was always difficult and in 2011, Ennys decided that she would prefer to award the prize on the basis of best fancy dress at the Laying-Up Race.

Her opinion was that John “would have appreciated the fun of racing when dressed-up”.

First presented in: 2003

Approx. height 220mm


Awarded to:

2003SuriP & M Willan
2005Mary BoonJ. K. Cruise
2006SynergyJ. Ruberry & B. Dobson
2007NarniaP. & S. Standley
2008RidunaM. & R. Briggs
2009IolaM & J Peart
2010Déjà Vu M. Smith
andLady MayV. Whitworth
(after 2010, best Laying-up race fancy dress)
2011FreyjaJ & J Baker and
P & C Fittock
2012AliasB. & T. Adams
2013AdelieC. & J. Horn
2014Tilly of MylorV & B Edgington
2015Tilly of MylorV & B Edgington
2017AdelieC. & J. Horn
2018No Race
2019AdelieC. & J. Horn

Other information:

John Hodgson was an excellent Commodore and did a very great deal for the club.  He was very much a ‘people person’ and spent much of his time laying the foundations of the sociable club that now exists.

See the laying up race tankard awarded  for most accurate finish time.

In 2020 racing was very limited due to the covid pandemic and the 5 Creeks Race was designated the “Laying-Up Race” due to its usual date in late September. However, the 5 Creeks is a purely competitive race  – see the Colin Bennett Trophy.  While this continues the John Hodgson Trophy remains unused.