Trophies – Shackle Trophy

Presented by Andrew Nancarrow & John Cruise

and first presented at the October prize-giving. It is designed to reward those who support the club’s racing throughout the season but who have missed out on the normal prizes.

Year: 2010

Approx. height 70 mm

Awarded to:

2010OtologicChris Horn
2011NirvanaMike Biglin
2012Wizard of CleeTony Hardman
2013KhamsinR. Chart
2014Tilly of MylorB. Edgington
2015YsellaB. Phipps
2016NightowlerM. Lithgow
2017NightowlerM. Lithgow
2018Growling KougarJ. Cutlar
2019PersephoneI. Carrick

Other information:

Boats that have not won a 1st ,2nd or 3rd prize in any of the three Friday series or pursuit series of the current year are eligible.

In future years,  3rd prize winners could be eligible at the committee’s discretion.


The scores of all eligible boats that have raced in PY and GH classes in the Friday and Pursuit series is re-calculated using a DNC (did not come to the starting area) score equal to the total number of eligible boats + one.  All discards stand as in the original series scoring.

The boat with the lowest score wins.

Ties will be broken by the greatest number of race starts, then (if necessary) by comparing best race scores, then by comparing scores in the last/penultimate race.

The shackle holds a significant place as a yacht racing prize, probably the first occasion being last century in Antigua, where the ‘Rusty Shackle Trophy’ is still competed for.