Trophies – Shamrock Block

Shamrock V was built in 1930 for Sir Thomas Lipton for his 5th and last America’s Cup Challenge. Designed by Nicholson, she is the only remaining J built in wood. She has had many owners but never fell into disrepair like other J’s, having been completely re-planked in 2″ Teak in 1967-70. In 1989, Classic Yacht Restorer Elizabeth Meyer undertook another extensive restoration and in 1999 she had a very successful result in Antigua against Velsheda and Endeavour. She has just completed a year-long refit at Pendennis Shipyard, resulting in an improved ballast ratio and new mast and sails. The redundant block was purchased by Mark and Rosey Briggs who presented it to MYC as a Sailing Trophy.

It is currently awarded for the Helford Pursuit race.
This block is one of a pair which were removed from the J class yacht Shamrock whilst she was undergoing a refit at the Pendennis Shipyard. The significance of the penny (there is another one on the reverse) is unclear, although it is believed it may be for luck, as often occurred in traditional boat building, whether for a New Build or at the time of a refit.

The penny on the reverse dates from the 1950’s.
Andrew Nancarrow mounted the block in its natural state on a magnificent base.

Presented in: 2012

Approx. height 170 mm

Awarded to:

2011Race abandoned
2012Stargazer Liam McGrath
2013Wizard of CleeTony Hardman
2014Wizard of CleeTony Hardman
2015E’le May Ian Horne
2016Jab Jab Richard Chart
2017LightningPeter Dallow
2018SplinterPeter Jones
2019LightningPeter Dallow

Other information:

The penny on the reverse dates from the 1950’s.


In 2020 racing was curtailed due to covid and again in 2021 and 2022 the Helford Race was not scheduled.   However, in 2023 a Ladies Race to Helford with a different format was scheduled but due to circumstances an alternative Ladies race was incorporated in the Diamond Jubilee Regatta with excellent participation but with the Bonnie R Cup as the winner’s trophy.